Munckhof Racing secures first TCE pole of the year at 2019 Hankook 24H BARCELONA

News | August 30, 2019

Munckhof Racing secures first TCE pole of the year at 2019 Hankook 24H BARCELONA

BARCELONA (30 August, 2019) – The Munckhof Racing BMW M4 GTR (#310, Eric van den Munckhof / Marco Poland / Ted van Vliet / Marcel van Berlo / Glenn van Berlo) has taken TCE pole position for this year’s Hankook 24H BARCELONA. Glenn van Berlo lapped the 4.655km Circuit de Barcelona-Catalunya in 1m 55.617s to secure the TCE top spot for tomorrow’s race. In doing so, the all-Dutch team becomes the fifth different TCE pole sitter in six 24H SERIES powered by Hankook events so far this year.

“It’s my first qualifying for a 24-hour race in this car, so I’m very happy!” Glenn van Berlo explained to’s Shea Adam. “I was here a few weeks ago with Formula 4, so I know the track quite well. It’s very hot this weekend, so it’s difficult to control the tyres in these conditions, and obviously I needed to change my driving style a bit. But I’m still very happy with that result.”

Fellow SP3-runner RTR Projects (#224, Jan Krabec / Daniel Skalický / Petr Lisa / Erik Janis / Tomas Miniberger) completes the TCE front row with its KTM X-BOW, despite a slow start to the session. The Perfection Racing Ginetta G55 (#345, Michael Klostermann / Claus Klostermann / Tommy Laugesen / René Rasmussen) rounds-out the SP3 top three and will start 12th on the road in-division.

After a close-fought qualifying session, the first of two Autorama Motorsport by Wolf-Power Racing Volkswagen Golf GTI TCRs is the fastest TCR runner, and will start 3rd overall with its #112 entry (Marlon Menden / Ralf Henggeler / Jérôme Ogay / Benjamin Leuchter / Yannick Mettler). The current 24H TCE SERIES Europe standings leader also secured the 3rd fastest TCR time with the sister #114 Volkswagen (Kristian Jepsen / Jan Sorensen / Yannick Mettler) on the latter’s first 24H SERIES race this year. Sandwiched between them is the AC Motorsport Audi RS3 LMS (#188, Stephane Perrin / Vincent Radermecker / Tom Boonen / James Kaye / Mathieu Detry).

Further back in the A3 class, the Hofor Racing by Bonk Motorsport BMW M240i Racing Cup (#869, Martin Kroll / Axel Burghardt / Volker Piepmeyer / Michael Bonk / Michael Fischer) repeats its accomplishment from last year’s Hankook 24H BARCELONA by claiming the category pole position. Just behind them is the Synchro Motorsport Honda FK8-Civic Type-R (#676, Alyn James / Daniel Wheeler / Matt Neal), which currently lies 3rd overall in the 24H TCE SERIES Europe rankings, and the fun-M Motorsport BMW M240i Racing Cup (#802, Harald Rettich / Paul Sieljes / Danny Brink / Klaus Dieter Frommer).

This year’s Hankook 24H BARCELONA starts tomorrow afternoon at 12.00 hrs local time, and will run uninterrupted through the night to 12.00 hrs local time on Sunday. Live timing and live streaming of the race in HD quality with commentary by will be available on the series’ website. The streaming will also be uploaded on the series’ Youtube channel. Regular updates will be published on Twitter (@24HSeries), Facebook (24H Series) and Instagram (24H Series). Further information can be found at

share this content on: