CWS Engineering holds off AC Motorsport for TCE pole position

News | September 3, 2021

·      CWS Engineering takes second consecutive TCE pole of 2021 at Barcelona. 

·      Late-session lap secures AC Motorsport a front row spot, drops title leader Autorama Motorsport by Wolf-Power Racing to 3rd. 

·      Spain’s RAIL EQUIP BY TOTCAR SPORT and Baporo Motorsport share third row.

BARCELONA (3 September, 2021) – CWS Engineering has taken its second consecutive TCE pole position of the 2021 24H SERIES season at the Circuit de Barcelona-Catalunya. 


The CWS Engineering Ginetta G55 (#278, Colin White / Ian Stinton / Jean- François Brunot / Angus Fender) lapped consistently within the top three for the majority of the 30-minute session for this weekend’s Hankook 24H BARCELONA. As the final five minutes approached, team owner Colin White then banked a 1m 55.962s around the 4.675km Circuit de Barcelona-Catalunya to put TCE pole position out of reach of his nearest rivals. 


This marks the second time in three editions that CWS Engineering will start the Hankook 24H BARCELONA from TCE pole following its timesheet-topping run at the event in 2018. 

The AC Motorsport Audi RS3 LMS (#188, Stéphane Perrin / Mathieu Detry / James Kaye / Vincent Radermecker) will line-up alongside the Ginetta on the front row. The Belgian team, which lies third in the Overall TCE Teams’ standings just four points adrift, held provisional pole position for much of the 30-minute session, and though Audi was ultimately denied its first TCE pole position in more than two years, a final flying lap from Mathieu Detry saw AC Motorsport leapfrog onto the front row by just 0.092s in the session’s closing moments.


AC Motorsport’s grandstand run consequently dropped the Autorama Motorsport by Wolf-Power Racing Volkswagen Golf GTi TCR DSG (#1, Emil Heyerdahl / Jasmin Preisig / Constantin Kletzer / Roberto Ferri) back onto the second row of the TCE grid alongside its sister TCR entry (#112, Arunas Geciauskas / Sigitas Ambrazevicius / Vytenis Gulbinas / Paul Sieljes). The Swiss team currently leads the Overall TCE Teams’ title chase courtesy of two wins at Circuit Paul Ricard and the Hockenheimring. 


A top-three worrying run by the RAIL EQUIP BY TOTCAR SPORT CUPRA TCR (#123, Jorge Belloc Diaz / Jorge Belloc Ruiz / Álvaro Rodríguez Sastre) eventually led to the 5th fastest lap of the session for the hometown team, just ahead of the CUPRA TCR of compatriot Baporo Motorsport (#151, Manel Lao Gorina / Manel Lao Cornago / Llorenç Fluxà Domene / Llorenç Fluxà Cross). The Bas Koeten Racing CUPRA TCR (#125, Bert Mets / Jos Stevens / Bob Stevens / Martin van den Berge / Christiaan Frankenhout) rounds out the TCR runners and will be joined on the back row of the TCE field by the returning Team ACP - Tangerine Associates BMW M2 CS Racing (#221, Wim Spinoy / Catesby Jones / Jim Norman). 


Following tonight’s official Night Practice at the Circuit de Barcelona-Catalunya, the green flag for the 22nd edition of the Hankook 24H BARCELONA will fly at 12.00 hrs local time on Saturday 4 September. The 24-hour event will run uninterrupted thereafter with the chequered flag due to drop at 12.00 hrs local time on Sunday 5 September. The action will be live with commentary from on the official 24H SERIES YouTube channel. Regular updates will also be published on Twitter (@24HSeries), Facebook (24H Series) and Instagram (24H Series). Further information can be found HERE.

share this content on: