Equipe Verschuur and KCMG seal GT and TCE pole positions at Monza

News | July 10, 2020

Equipe Verschuur takes Hankook 12H MONZA pole position on the final lap

MONZA (10 July, 2020) – The Equipe Verschuur Renault RS01 (#9, Harrie Kolen / Erik van Loon / Mike Verschuur) will start from pole position for the inaugural Hankook 12H MONZA, following a tight battle for the top spot during qualifying.


Mike Verschuur lapped the 5.793km Autodromo Nazionale di Monza in 1m 48.821s on his final fast lap, moving the returning Renault RS01 ahead of long-time provisional polesitter, the Herberth Motorsport Porsche 991 GT3 R (#93, Steffen Görig / Stefan Aust / Klaus Bachler), in the process. Barely one-tenth of a second splits the front row.


Having missed the front row by just half a second, the Herberth Motorsport Porsche 991 GT3 R (#91, Daniel Allemann / Ralf Bohn / Robert Renauer / Alfred Renauer) will line up third for the first part of this afternoon’s Hankook 12H MONZA, and thus shares the second row with the Car Collection Motorsport Audi R8 LMS GT3 Evo (#34, Johannes Dr. Kirchhof / Elmar Grimm / Max Edelhof). The latter endured a tough session, having been served a drive-through penalty for a re-fueling infringement.  


Despite the team’s Mercedes-AMG GT3 grinding to a halt on pit exit on its warm-up lap, MP Racing (#58, Thomas Gostner / David Gostner / Manuela Gostner / Corinna Gostner / Giorgio Sernagiotto) will start its first 24H SERIES powered by Hankook event from 5th.


Having been among the front runners earlier in the session, the Wochenspiegel Team Monschau Ferrari 488 GT3 (#22, Georg Weiss / Leonard Weiss / Jochen Krumbach / Hendrik Still) was eventually shuffled back to 7th on the grid. The German team will start one place behind the third Herberth Motorsport entry (#92, Jürgen Häring / Taki Konstantinou / Alfred Renauer), which took overall victory at the previous round in Portimão.


Like the GT3 field, pole position for the GTX runners was confirmed in the closing moments of the session as the Reiter Engineering KTM GTX Concept (#746, Stefan Rosina / Laura Kraihamer / Eike Angermayr) moved ahead of the returning ARC Bratislava Lamborghini Huracán Super Trofeo (#707, Miro Konopka / Mato Konopka / Mato Homola) on its final run. The Slovakian team's laps would later be disallowed though following an irregularity with the Lanborghini's balance of performance. That means the JR Motorsport BMW M3 F80 (#703, Ted van Vliet / Ruud Olij) will now start 2nd in-class.


Across in 991, the Speed Lover Porsche 991-II Cup (#978, Dominique Bastien / Gavin Pickering) took category pole position ahead of its sister entry (#979, Olivier Dons / Eric Mouez / Rolf Lietart), while the MDM Motorsport BMW M4 GT4 (#450, Tom Coronel / Tim Coronel / Jan Jaap van Roon) was the fastest GT4-class runner and rounds out the GT field.  

Brutal Fish by KCMG takes first TCE pole position at the Hankook 12H MONZA

MONZA (10 July, 2020) – The Brutal Fish by KCMG Honda Civic FK7 TCR (#122, Martin Ryba / Daniel Lloyd / Josep Oriola Vila) has taken its first TCE pole position in the 24H SERIES powered by Hankook after a storming battle for the top spot with AC Motorsport.


Daniel Lloyd posted the 5.793km Autodromo Nazionale di Monza in 2m 01.171s, barely four-tenths ahead of its nearest rival, the AC Motorsport Audi RS3 LMS (#188, Stéphane Perrin / Vincent Radermecker / Mathieu Detry), to secure the Hong Kong outfit’s first series pole position at the Hankook 12H MONZA.


Behind the top two, reigning Overall TCE Teams’ champion Autorama Motorsport (#112, Miklas Born / Constantin Kletzer / Yannick Mettler) posted the third fastest time of the session with the first of its two entered Volkswagen Golf GTi TCRs this weekend. After a trying session, the Swiss team’s second entry (#1, Sandro Pelatti / Alberto Vescov / Roberto Ferri) rounded out the TCR runners in qualifying and will start 8th overall.


Last year’s TCR SPA 500 winner, the Red Camel-Jordans.nl CUPRA TCR (#101, Luc Breukers / Ivo Breukers), will start 4th, just ahead of the returning Nordschleife Racing Ligier JS2 R (#226, Daniel Waszczinski / Régis Rego de Sebes / Johan Boris Scheier). The latter, which took 2nd in-class on its previous series outing in Dubai, was fastest of the TCX runners and will start as the category’s polesitter.


Fittingly, the TOPCAR Sport CUPRA TCR (#131, Fabian Danz / Karen Gaillard / Loris Prattes) will start just ahead of the NKPP Racing by Bas Koeten Racing CUPRA TCR (#175, Harry Hilders / Gijs Bessem). In a collaborative effort, TOPCAR Sport and Bas Koeten Racing took TCE victory at last year’s Hankook 24H BARCELONA.


The WEC Motorsport BMW E46 M3 (#339, David Cox / Jason Cox / George Haynes) and the Autorama Motorsport SEAT Leon Cup Racer V1 (#211, Luigi Stanco / Armando Stanco / Dario Stanco) round out the overall TCE field, and will start 2nd and 3rd respectively in the TCX class.


Part one of the inaugural Hankook 12H MONZA will start this afternoon at 15.00 hrs local time, and will run until 19.00 hrs. After an overnight interval, the race will continue uninterrupted from 11.00 hrs local time on Saturday 11 July until 19.00 hrs. Live streaming of the race in HD quality will be available on our official website and the 24H SERIES YouTube channel, along with commentary from radiolemans.com. Regular updates will be published on Twitter (@24HSeries), Facebook (24H Series) and Instagram (24H Series). Further information can be found at www.24hseries.com.


share this content on: