Autorama Motorsport makes TCE history at Hankook 16H HOCKENHEIMRING

News | September 6, 2020

-       Autorama Motorsport by Wolf-Power Racing becomes the first touring car team to secure an outright podium at a GT/TCE event.

-       Swiss team strengthens championship standing with a 1-2 finish.

-       TOPCAR Sport completes the podium, despite near-race ending shunt.

-       Day V Tec takes maiden class win at Nordschleife Racing’s expense.

HOCKENHEIM (6 September, 2020) – Reigning Overall TCE Teams’ champion Autorama Motorsport by Wolf-Power Racing has made history this afternoon at the Hankook 16H HOCKENHEIMRING by becoming the first TCR entrant to secure a spot on the outright podium at a 24H SERIES GT event.


Although TCR teams have secured overall podiums at TCE-only races in the past, this weekend marks the first time that a TCR competitor has finished on the podium of a 24H SERIES powered by Hankook event that features both the GT and TCE divisions.


The Autorama Motorsport by Wolf-Power Racing Volkswagen Golf GTi TCR (#1, Constantin Kletzer / Jasmin Preisig / Christoph Lenz / Rhys Lloyd / Yannick Mettler) was aided by incidents for the GT3 frontrunners, and also had to weather an incredibly close battle between the top three runners in TCE in the closing stages. In the end, Rhys Lloyd collected the chequered flag Autorama Motorsport by Wolf-Power Racing, the #1 Volkswagen having completing 450 laps of the 4.574km Hockenheimring en-route to the team’s second class win of the season.

Victory had looked set to go to the sister Autorama Volkswagen (#112, Alberto Vescovi / Roberto Ferri / Miklas Born / Marek Schaller / Benjamin Leuchter), but a bizarre incident in which the onboard fire extinguisher discharged in the cabin cost the team several laps to rectify. Having secured its fourth consecutive TCR podium of the year though, the #112 maintains its advantage at the top of the Overall TCE Teams’ championship standings.


The TOPCAR Sport CUPRA TCR (#131, Fabian Danz / Karen Gaillard / Kai Jordan) rounded out the TCE podium, despite almost being eliminated on the very first lap of the race in a bizarre collision with AC Motorsport and Red So close was the battle for the podium, the CUPRA finished just 57s behind the top two after 16 hours of endurance racing.

Dakar Rally mainstay Tim Coronel took his second consecutive class win in the 24H SERIES aboard the Day V Tec BMW 240i (#240, Jan Jaap van Roon / Tim Coronel / Gaby Uljee), despite having trouble getting the BMW rolling on the warm-up lap.  


Nordschleife Racing meanwhile (#226, Guillaume Roman / Daniel Waszczinski / Michel Sallenbach) had finished two laps ahead of its Dutch rival, but a start procedure infringement meant the Ligier JS2 R was penalised four laps after the race, and has thus been classified 2nd in TCX and 5th overall in the TCE division.


The Red CUPRA TCR (#101, Ivo Breukers / Luc Breukers / Steven Liquorish) finished a hard-earned 6th in the TCE division. Having been indirectly involved with the opening lap accident on Friday, the CUPRA suffered further damage with an off-track moment in the wet later that afternoon, the effects of which were still being felt during an extended pit stop this afternoon.

Sadly, having survived its earlier accident, the AC Motorsport Audi RS3 LMS (#188, Stéphane Perrin / Vincent Radermecker / Mathieu Detry) was eventually retired with irreparable handling problems.


On 9-10-11 October, the 24H SERIES powered by Hankook journeys to the Autodromo di Pergusa for the first-ever COPPA FLORIO 12H Sicily. The event marks the first time since 1981 that the ‘Coppa Florio’ name has been used, CREVENTIC having been given official licence to do so by Chico Paladino Florio, the grandson of event founder Vincenzo Florio. Interested competitors can register their interest in the event HERE.

share this content on: