CalendarBudgetTeam infoEntry & Order formWEK 6H DUBAI 2020TransportDriver/Ride boardStandingsNewsPressStoreContact

12H Hungary 2014

3-4 October 2014
MOGYORÓD (4 October, 2014) – The SPS automotive performance team won the sixth running of the Hankook 12H HUNGARY with its Mercedes-Benz SLS AMG GT3 (#4, Pierburg/Müller/Arnold). During the twelve-hour race at the 4.381 kilometres long Hungaroring Grand Prix circuit, the three German drivers racked up a total of 345 laps, equalling a distance of 1,511.445 kilometres. Lance-David Arnold drove the gullwing sports car across the finish line and commented: “A great victory for us, especially as my two team-mates never raced here before.” In a race that was marked by changeable weather conditions with several rain showers, Swiss team, Hofor Racing, completed the 1-2 for Mercedes-Benz customer teams with their SLS AMG GT3 (#1, Kroll/Heyer/Frankenhout/Eggimann), only 36.795 seconds down on the race winners after a spirited final drive by Kenneth Heyer.

Victory for the SPS automotive performance team was the second win for a Mercedes-Benz SLS AMG GT3 this year in the 24H SERIES powered by Hankook after the success of German team, Car Collection Motorsport, in the inaugural Hankook 12H ZANDVOORT in May this year. At the Hungaroring, Swiss team, Stadler Motorsport, also looked set for a good result with its Porsche (#20, Amstutz/M. Ineichen/R. Ineichen) that led for most of the first half of the race. However, a problem with the brake system that couldn’t be repaired on site eventually forced the Swiss team to retire.  
In third place overall, Austrian team ZaWotec Racing celebrated victory in the SP2 class with its Porsche 997 Cup (#8, Uckermann/Daum/Schreier), winning by the more-than-comfortable margin of 19  laps over the SPS automotive performance Porsche 991 Cup (#7, Moodley/Maharaj/Jarvis). The Artas Racing Lexus IS-F (#46, Mrazauskas/Baltramiejunas/Vastakas/Kablys) finished a distant third in class.
The A5 class brought success for French Team Altran with its pair of Peugeot 208 GTis in first and second place. Class victory went to Vincent Radermecker, Steven Palette and Guillaume Roman in the number 18 car, with their team mates Marc Rostan, Johnny Niederhauser and Jerôme Ogay following in second place with the number 19 sister car. For the Altran team, it was the second consecutive class win in a round of the 24H SERIES powered by Hankook following their success in the 24H BARCELONA four weeks ago. The Rimo team from Lithuania finished third in class with its BMW 335 D (#41, Blazulionis/Vitkauskas/Samultis).

British team, KPM Racing, led the D1 diesel class for most of the race with its Volkwagen Golf (#38, Onslow-Cole/White/Edwards) that went on to win its class with a margin of seven laps over the Red Camel-Jordans.nl SEAT (#37, Kresnik/Puth/R. Breukers). DK Racing Event from Denmark came third in class with its Renault Clio Sport (#31, Nielsen/Söderhamn/Larsen/Nyboe).